snowgood

Hi-Tech Swede

In BMW, Volvo on September 3, 2013 at 11:10 pm

V60 D5 2013I’ve driven some incredible cars, but this one is probably the “cleverest” of the lot.

In all my years driving the best extra I’ve ever sampled was the BMW High Beam Assist on my 335.

The lamps made night like day, turned to match steering input but the cleverest touch was the auto dimming facility when the gadgetry detected a car ahead.

Unnecessary?  Possibly.

Worthy?  Absolutely.

Fast forward 5 years and I find myself considering a nearly new Volvo V60 as my daily steer.

At first glance it looks good.

But it does come in at £30,000, and it is only a Volvo.  So why did I come away impressed?

Firstly, it sounded wonderfully refined even with the 215 bhp oil burner installed, a world apart from the 2011 D5 unit in my Mum’s S60.

Squeezing the throttle the engine sounded exactly like the 2.5 litre petrol 5 pot in my C30.

The very through salesman then fiddled with the knobs on the steering wheel to demonstrate the radar controlled cruise control.  Wow, that’s one good option.

Then there’s driver alertness monitoring, which gave me 5 out of 5 for my positioning on the road, but can get quite rude if the driver starts to feel drowsy.

Then there was a 3 stage red light system buried low down on at the edge of the windscreen that warned me if I got too close to the car in front.

I didn’t need the Blind Spot red light’s as there weren’t many folk on the roads around Horsham.

Negative points? Not many.  Not much rear leg room, and this isn’t a load lugger in the classic Volvo sense.  Think of it as a sleek elongated hatchback, and you’ll be nearer the truth.

Will I buy it?

I’m not so sure if it’s lost £12,000 in 6 months and 108 miles what will it be worth in a further 6 months?

No I’ll soldier on with my T5 for a few more weeks.

Leave a Reply

