snowgood

Marked improvement

In Skoda, Travel on January 4, 2014 at 10:02 am

IMG_2647 IMG_2649The third Generation Skoda Octavia seemed likely to be the ideal machine for my high mileage day job.

Lots of toys as standard, much better looks and what seemed like greater engine refinement.

But my test drive only lasted 15 minutes.  I’d already decided something was wrong by the time I’d hit 50 mph, and done less than two miles.

The problem.

Wind noise.  Even on a day when it wasn’t windy.

The car zipped up to sixty in no time, even in standard 140 bhp spec but I expected more.

So I’ll end up with a car that costs nearly £10,000 more just so I can have a bit of peace and quiet on the motorway.

So this new chiselled look Octavia merits a giant leap forward, but will only suit folk who aren’t car savvy.

People who think being deafened on a dual carriageway is de rigeur.

I also noted that the fab pricing isn’t quite that clever.  A lot of what I wanted on my next car came as cost options.

Be careful to Czech this out before signing on the dotted line.

In case your interested.  Yes it was well put together, and is quite comfortable. You might want more.

Leave a Reply

