snowgood

Bottom Rung BMW

In BMW, Hyundai, Skoda on January 12, 2014 at 11:22 pm

IMG_00000843Excuse the photo, but I was so busy driving I forgot to take a decent shot.  Last week I drove from Frankfurt to Brussels in the latest generation BMW 316 diesel saloon.

This detuned oil burner is the entry level 3 series, but it still looked quite stylish in metallic paint and with alloy wheels.

Having been whisked to Frankfurt in a nearly new 740i I was looking forward to a stint on de-restricted German autobahn.

Except it didn’t go as planned.

The first hour I probably never hit more than 20 mph, and the next three hours it rained, and all lanes were busy.

So what do I think of the junior version of my soon to be company car?

TBH, it wasn’t that thrilling.

My current Hyundai 1.7 oil burner is quieter from cold, and at low speeds.

Driving a left hooker on unfamiliar roads after dark wasn’t the best intro, but I wasn’t convinced by the six speed box.  After all this is no ball of fire.

Official figures show that it will hit sixty mph in about 10 seconds (but it seems slower) and might just carry on to 125mph given a fair wind and an empty carriageway.

Speaking of which, there was noticeable wind noise over 80 mph (but not as bad as the new Octavia).

Three up I managed to eventually hit 115 mph, but it may have been quicker in Sport mode.

The basic seats (in cloth) were ok, but the cabin was a bit cramped when travelling with a tall passenger behind the front seats.

The boot betters old 2010 3 series, and I liked the bottle holders in the arm rest.

Economy on our trip was 5.1 litres per 100 kilometres, which works out at 55mpg, which I reckon is pretty good for a nearly new engine that’s still loosening up.

All things considered I would safely say I’d rather not take the bottom rung 3 series, but would look elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

