snowgood

Got a new motor?

In BMW, Hyundai on January 20, 2014 at 9:46 pm

IMG_00000895Yes really.

The old Hyundai i40 Tourer has gone, and my new car is a Hyundai i40 Tourer.

Funnily enough even though I spent 15 minutes unpack king the blue one it wasn’t until I went to drive away I noticed the one is significantly different to the “old” one.

At first I thought, oh goody it has a built in SatNav.

Then I tempered my enthusiasm as many cars sport a big screen for the radio, have the buttons for navigation but without the actual maps on the low spec models.

I tentatively put the key in the ignition, poked a few buttons and hey presto discovered this version DOES have SatNav.

Yippee do.

I decided to get comfortable, was it me or is the headrest in this model less awkward.

Oops no bar to bring the seat forward.

That’s because it has electric seats, and even electric lumbar adjustment.

Things were getting better.

I selected first gear and drove off.

Was it me, or was the steering more alert?

Once on the A380 I wondered if I might be accelerating a bit quicker.

Guess what?  There’s also climate control.

Another useful extra.

Fifteen minutes later I stopped for lunch.

Afterwards I thought I’d check my hunch.

The drivers door reveal on Hyundai’s reveal the BHP on tap.

Not just yer 115 diesel hires, but 136 chevuax.

I am blessed.

Thirty minutes up the M5 I thought “I bet it even has cruise control”.

Tick.

All in all, this is way more satisfying than the base Blue model.

A nice little treat as I await the arrival of my 3 series.

MPG seems no different than before, about 46 miles to the gallon, and the car’s still only done 221 miles.

Things will only get better in time.

This i40 is supremely adequate.

Only negative points.

The boot lid which drips down your neck when opened whilst wet, and the centre console is SO BRIGHT, even on the dark setting.

Ah well, they’ll  catch the Germans within 5 years.

IMG_00000896Back home I discovered that big screen has a camera to help with reversing.

That’s the first time I’ve had that toy.

Just checking the stats I see my latest i40 can crack the 0-100 kmh mark in 10.6 seconds.

Although the performance is marked by a moments lethargy before the revs build, and let the turbo kick in.  My next continental jaunt may see a 124 mph top speed reached.  Although I doubt it, and this model is not as hunkered down as the blue one.

Here I am 5 days on from taking the keys to the silver i40. Today it totally lost traction and I had a “moment” as the car understeered on a new roundabout.  I guess I need to check if the tyres are over inflated, in 6000 miles in the 115bhp version it showed no such tendencies.

Also as I learn more about the car I’ve discovered the electric fold button the door mirrors, and at last the NIGHT button for blacking out the central screen.  Brilliant that there is one, but Hyundai offer just 4 settings, the dimmest of which is too bright.  Looking at a black screen isn’t the answer when using the map function.

Hyundai are getting better year on year, but these incidentals are a real let down to the busy sales rep. At least I can search for phone numbers on the move, but again the functionality is dire compared to BMW systems.

Other new discoveries are asking sensors in the front bumper, and the fact that the rear reversing camera is inferior to the BMW green/yellow/red mapping when it is dark or raining.

We’ve a long trip to Belgium coming up, I wonder how it will fair on that long run.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

